

### THE KENNEDY CENTER **American College Theater Festival**

## CONGRATULATES

the recipients of The Michael Kanin Playwriting Awards for the 2009 Festival year

#### The National Student Playwriting Award

#### diventare

Jenny Rachel Weiner, Boston University

#### The National Partners of the **American Theatre Playwriting Award**

#### Quarto # Cuatro

Jaime Cruz, University of Wyoming

# The Milan Stitt Award for Outstanding Teacher of Playwriting Kate Snodgrass, Boston University

# The Paul Stephen Lim Asian-American Playwriting Award Supported by the University of Kansas Endowment Association

#### Blue Note Run

Edgar Mendoza, Carnegie Mellon University

# The O'Neill Playwrights' Conference Residency Briandaniel Oglesby, University of California-Riverside

For Nebraska by Noon

## The Ken Ludwig Playwriting Scholarship

Walt McGough, Boston University

For Two Socks Discuss Loss and Priscilla Dreams the Answer, and other plays.

#### The KCACTF Ten-Minute Play Award Girls Play

Masha Obolensky, Boston University

# The John Cauble Award for Outstanding Short Play

### Cassius Sargent's Chicken Bones

Asher Wyndham, Arizona State University

# The Playwrights' Center Core Apprentice Workshops Patricia Loughrey, California State University-Long Beach

Dean Poynor, Carnegie Mellon University Julie Tosh, Carnegie Mellon University

#### The WORDbridge Fellowship

Erin Phillips, University of Texas at Austin For The Highway Play

#### The National Science Playwriting Award

Presented with the support of Alan Lightman

### Biography of a Constellation

Lila Rose Kaplan, University of California-San Diego

#### The KCACTF Musical Theatre Award

#### Sleepy Hollow

Book and Lyrics by Jim Christian Music by Tom Edward Clark Weber State University

## The Jean Kennedy Smith Playwriting Award Presented in association with VSA

The International Organization of Arts and Disability

#### Have a Heart

Lisa Beth Allen, University of New Orleans

#### The David Mark Cohen **Playwriting Award**

In association with the Association for Theatre in Higher Education

#### The Power Behind the Palette

Mark Charney, Clemson University

Runner-up tie

**Skirt** by Julie Tosh, Carnegie Mellon University The Way Things Have to Be by Jeremiah Munsey, University of Nevada-Las Vegas

# The KCACTF Theater for Young Audiences Award

In association with Kennedy Center Theater for Young Audiences

#### Fly/Lyf

Anne Negri, Arizona State University

## The Lorraine Hansberry Playwriting Award King Nigga

Ayanna Maia Saulsberry, New York University Runner-up

#### Refraction

Ronald McCants, University of California, San Diego

#### The Quest for Peace Playwriting Award

#### Parts of Parts and Stitches

Riti Sachdeva, University of New Mexico

## The Mark Twain Prize

## for Comic Playwriting Metropolis Has No Superman

G.William Zorn, Western Michigan University

#### **A Boy Named Alice**

Joshua Elias Harmon, Carnegie Mellon University

#### The Rosa Parks Playwriting Award

Made possible by Beatrice and Anthony Welters and the An-Bryce Foundation

#### The River Was Whiskey

Will Fancher, Boston University

### The Paula Vogel Playwriting Award

Co-winners

#### Ching Chong Chinaman

Lauren Yee, University of California, San Diego

#### May the Devil be Kinder

Alexander Davidson, New York University

#### The KCACTF Latino Playwriting Award

#### Las Hermanas Padilla

Tony Meneses, University of Iowa

Runner-up

#### 7, Eight, 9

Joe Luis Cedillo, University of Iowa



#### For more information: kcactf.org

Theater at the Kennedy Center is presented with the generous support of Stephen and Christine Schwarzman.

The Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Dr. Gerald and Paula McNichols Foundation, The Honorable Stuart Bernstein and Wilma E. Bernstein, the Kennedy Center Corporate Fund, and the National Committee for the Performing Arts.



